Tags

, , , , , ,

Very few things in life make me as happy as Thanksgiving.  I say this all the time, but it is the most underrated holiday of the year.  There aren’t the same pressures that come along with Christmas & the stresses of buying that perfect gift, you get to spend time with family, and you can eat/cook all of the food you want!  For those of us with full-time jobs, the leisure to cook and experiment for hours in the kitchen is a once-a-year treat.

Thanksgiving is also the perfect time to put up the Christmas decorations, play some holiday tunes, and fail try to re-create those childhood holiday memories.  This year I went a little crazy at Michael’s (who is having an awesome 50% off their Christmas decor, btw) and found the perfect glittery poinsettias and curly sticks for my Christmas tree topper.

I went with a silver-glitter theme (or, as my husband would say, glitter santa-threw-up-everywhere theme).

I found some other creative christmas tree decoration themes I thought were worth copying sharing…like this Kitchen themed tree from HGTV.

“Oh Christmas tree, Oh Christmas tree…”  I thought this Christmas tree from Anthropologie was a cute way to use some old sheet music, or maybe buy an old hymnal from a thrift store and cut the squares yourself.  Definite DIY potential!

If you have kids, or you just love Candyland like me, you will love this tree.  You would need a dumptruck of cool decorations to make it seem as full as this, but one day, I promise I’m going to do this in my kids’ play room or something.

I will be posting the step-by-step for my tree topper soon.  In the mean time, here is a recipe for the best Pecan Pie Ever!!  My husband’s aunt gave it to me, and it slays all other recipes out there!

Pecan Pie
slowly melt 1/4 cup butter in a skillet
add 1 cup boken pecan halves
stir to coat… heat just til warm
remove from heat and do the following
3 eggs – whisk until nice and yellow
Mix the following into the eggs
1 cup Dark Kayro
3/4 Cup Sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
pour egg mixture into pie crust
Slide the pecans on top and GENTLY
stir to coat.
Oven shoud be pre heated to 425.. bake for 15 mintes
Turn the temp back to 350 and bake an additional 40-45 minutes
